Licensed travel bureau for incoming customers to KRAKÓW & POLAND.
From individual tourists to business travellers and small groups


Weather in KrakowWebcam view Main square Krakow


Warsaw

HOME >> Warsaw

The Palace of Culture and Science - It is located in the very center of the city, on a square biggest in Europe. This huge edifice was erected in 1952 - 1955, designed by Lew Rudniew, of stone and limestone. The skyscraper was constructed as a gift from the Russian people to Poland. The idea of building it was Stalin’s. Its shape is similar to that of Moscow Skyscrapers.
When it was built, the Palace was the second building in Europe as far as its height. It has 42 levels, and is 20 meters and 68 centimeters high in total.
The Palace is the seat of numerous firms and institutions of public use, such as cinemas, theatres, museums, bookshops, scientific institutions, a swimming pool, and the biggest in Poland conference hall for 3000 people. On the 30st floor, at the height of 114 meters, there is a view terrace. The Place is still the highest building in Poland.



The Royal Baths – One of the Europe's finest complexes laid out in the 17th century by St.Lubomirski. Its current shape is the result of the efforts of King Stanisław August Poniatowski (1732-1798), owner of the Łazienki since 1764. During almost 30 years, on the area of about 80 hectares, the summer residence of the monarch was built, the park designed and several buildings raised. During this period (1772-1793), Dominik Merlini remodeled the old bathing pavilion from the 17th century, and built the Palace on the Island, a splendid Neo-Classic palace to Tylman of Gameren design.
The characteristic historical buildings in the royal park: Amphitheatre, the Large Orangery with the theatre of the royal court, the White Cottage, the Myśliwiecki Palace etc.
It joins together the elements of a regular French park with the characteristics of an English garden.



Belvedere - Erected c.1660 and remodeled in the first half of the 18th century in Baroque style. Owned by King Stanisław August Poniatowski who opened the faience manufacture in the north outbuilding. Since 1818, the residence of Prince Konstanty. Remodeled in Neo-Classical style to J.Kubicki's design. Headquarters of J.Piłsudski in 1918-1922. In 1922-1926, the presidential residence of G.Narutowicz and S.Wojciechowski. In 1926-1935, the residence of J.Piłsudski. Between 1990 and 1995, it was the residence of the President Lech Wałęsa. Now, the museum of J.Piłsudski.



Presidential Palace - Built between 1643 and 1645 for Hetman, i.e. the commander-in-chief of the Polish Army, Koniecpolski. Since the end of the 17th century until 1817, it was the property of the family of Radziwiłł. Several times extended. Its current Neo-Classic shape is the result of the remodeling to the design by Ch.P.Aigner in 1818-1819. In this Palace, the Warsaw Treaty was signed in 1955, and in 1970, the treaty on normalization of mutual relations between Germany and Poland. In 1989, it witnessed the Government-Solidarity ”Round Table” Talks. Since 1994, the residence of the President of Poland.


 
Parliament: Sejm and Senat - The building was raised in 1925-1929 as a half-rotunda. Designed by K.Skórewicz. The façade decorated with the frieze and the bas-reliefs by J.Szczepkowski. After the burning in 1939, it was rebuilt and extended (till the end of 1946) to B.Pniewski's design. The seat of the Parliament: the Sejm (House of Deputies) and the Senate of Republic of Poland.



The Royal Caste - The present building is a reconstruction of the complex bombed during combat in September 1939, and blown up by the Nazis in 1944. The reconstruction project was designed by Jan Bogusławski, on the basis of the prewar state (the project was put into life in the years 1971 - 1988). The Early Baroque shape, as well as gothic elevation of the inner wing of the Yard, was reconstructed, together with a set of Baroque and classicistic interiors, making use of remaining fragments of old the old structure. The Castle is a monument of national history and culture. It provides the setting for permanent exhibitions as well as temporary exhibitions of old art, for official meetings, concerts, symposia and other cultural events. Stanisław August, a connoiseur and patron of arts created in it a workshop run by Marcello Bacciarelli.



The Barbican - From its very foundation (around 1300) the Old Town was surrounded by an earthen rampart. In the XVI century the old walls made of mud and sand were replaced by defense walls made of bricks, on the stone foundations, with rectangular bastions and the Barbican (which is a gate, in front of the Nowomiejska Gate) designed by Giovanni Battista of Venice. From the second half of the XVIII the walls had been successfully pulled down. What we have today is a reconstruction done in 1946 - 1954, based on the state of the end of the XVI century. Relics of the old Gothic bridge can still be seen today. Within the walls the monuments were erected: to Jan Kiliński, the leader of the townsmen of Warsaw during the Kościuszko Insurrection in 1794 (the statue by St. Jackowski, made in 1935), and to the Young Insurgent in 1983 by Jerzy Jarnuszkiewicz.



Warsaw Uprising Monument - Paid for by public subscription. Designed by W.Kućma.
Unveiled the day of the 45th anniversary of the Warsaw Uprising on August 1st, 1989. It consists of two groups of sculptures representing soldiers fighting on the barricades and coming down to the sewage channels. The entrance to one of th echannels is located o the monument.
 



Warsaw Uprising Museum - is the center of knowledge on the Warsaw Uprising. It was conceived in order to materialize the atmosphere of Uprising days and everyday life of civilians. Exhibitions (photographs, documents, newspapers, uniforms and weapons) were prepared so as to arouse the interest of the visitors for all that relates to the Warsaw Uprising.
 



Powązki Cemetery - Created in 1790 to the design by D.Merlini, architect of the court of King Stanisław August Poniatowski. The oldest catholic cemetery in the city. The catacombs contain ashes of King's entourage and his family. In 1925, the Avenue of the Meritorious was drawn along the Southern wall of the catacombs, with graves of W.Reymont, L.Staff, M.Dąbrowska, F.Żwirko and S.Wigura. The Powązki cemetery is a treasure of sculptural and architectural art with important works of classicism, secession and modern art. Many tombstones, spread in all Powązki, are copies or quotations from the works of ancient and Egyptian art. Before a visit, it is worthwhile to read one of many guidebooks of this necropolis.



Church of the Holly Cross - Baroque Church with the characteristic figure of the Christ (work of P.Weloński) and the inscription reading: ”Sursum Corda”. Built between 1679 and 1696. Designed by J.Belotti. Founded by Abbot K.Szczuka and Primate M.Radziejowski. Into its pillars are walled the urns with the hearts of F.Chopin (1882) and of Wł.Reymont. Rebuilt in 1945-1953 after the wartime destructions. Numerous epitaphs dedicated to B.Prus, J.I.Kraszewski, J.Słowacki, Wł.Sikorski and others.



St. Anna's Church - Originated after 1454, extended in XVI and XVII centuries. In 1788 Stanisław Kostka Potocki and Chrystian Peter Aigner designed a Baroque-classicisstic façade decorated with sculptures of Jacob Monaldi Franciszek Pinck. When the so called Trasa WZ was build, the church was in danger of collapsing, because of sliding down of the Vistula scarp. The church was saved by means of ferro-concrete pillars supporting the scarp. In St Anne cloister an old vault was preserved, as well as a gothic chamber having a vault supported by one pillar (coming from early XVI century). The church colonnade, designed by Ch.P. Aigner, comes from 1819 – 1821.



Historical Museum of the City of Warsaw - The Museum was founded in 1936. It houses particularly rich collections of paintings, engravings, figures and maps, objects of artistic handicraft and old photographs. Your attention will be captured by the archives, prints and engravings, dating from the November Uprising and the period of the Great Emigration, and by the patriotic souvenirs from 1861-1863. In the cinema of the Museum, you may see a staggering film recalling the history of the destruction and the rebuilding of the City.



The Bankowy Square and its northern side are closed from the south by the building of the old Polish Bank and the Stock Exchange. Erected in 1825 - 1828 to the design by Antonio Corazzi, extended before 1830 by Jan Jakób Gay. The building is one of the most outstanding classicist buildingds in Warsaw. The elevations of it are made of two levels of arcades, going along the operation room which is round, placed in a corner and covered by a low dome.
From 1957 to 1981, it housed the Museum of the History of the Polish Revolutionary Movement.



Wilanów Park-Palace Complex - Residence of kings Jean III Sobieski and August II, and of the distinguished aristocratic families. The Palace was built towards the end of the 17th century and extended during following centuries. Its interiors show three different styles, from the 17th to the 19th centuries. On the first floor, there is the Gallery of Polish Portrait with portraits of monarchs, members of Polish aristocracy and nobility, meritorious Poles and organizers of the artistic life. The Palace can be visited with a guide in groups of 35 people max. The Park, closely surrounding the Palace, covers 43 hectares and presents various styles of the art of gardening from the 17th to the 19th centuries. Small buildings and statues are hidden in its greenery.















Copyright © 2017 Voytan Travel. All rights reserved. Design & Engine by Szymon Kowalczyk